Projecting the Mets’ Opening Day roster, March 16

Update, March 17, 4:48 p.m.

The Mets just made six additional cuts, which are reflected below.

Time to whip out a new version of the projected roster, taking into account Zack Wheeler’s impending Tommy John surgery and other developments.


CF Juan Lagares
2B Daniel Murphy
3B David Wright
1B Lucas Duda
RF Michael Cuddyer
LF Curtis Granderson
C  Travis d’Arnaud

SS Wilmer Flores

No changes here, particularly considering how nice a spring Lagares is having. Nothing to see here. Move along.

C Anthony Recker
OF Kirk Nieuwenhuis
OF John Mayberry, Jr.

INF Ruben Tejada
INF Eric Campbell

Again, let’s just keep moving. This group is pretty static.


RHP Jacob deGrom
LHP Jon Niese

RHP Matt Harvey
RHP Bartolo Colon
RHP Dillon Gee

With Wheeler out for the year, the names here won’t change barring another injury (Sorry, fans of Noah Syndergaard, Steven Matz and Rafael Montero. But the order remains unclear. Expect either deGrom or Niese to start Opening Day, with Harvey sliding into Game 2 or 3. Colon and Gee should round out the rotation.


RHP Jenrry Mejia (CL)
RHP Jeurys Familia

RHP Vic Black
RHP Carlos Torres
RHP Rafael Montero
LHP Dario Alvarez
RHP Buddy Carlyle

Color me unimpressed enough with Sean Gilmartin’s performance to throw Alvarez in here instead, though there’s a growing chance the Mets fill their lefty need externally. Wheeler’s injury bumps Gee to the rotation, giving Montero an excellent opportunity to land in the bullpen. I like Carlyle’s chances, too, since the Mets may lose him if he doesn’t make the cut. And if Black’s shoulder woes linger, the Mets may even need to add another right-hander from the depths of camp.

Disabled list:

RHP Bobby Parnell, RHP Zack Wheeler, LHP Josh Edgin.

Still in camp:
C Johnny Monell*, C Kevin Plawecki*, INF Brandon Allen*, INF Danny Muno*, INF Matt Reynolds*, OF Alex Castellanos*, OF Matt den Dekker, OF Cesar Puello, RHP Chase Bradford*, RHP Erik Goeddel, RHP Cory Mazzoni, RHP Akeel Morris, RHP Noah Syndergaard, RHP Zack Thornton*, RHP Jon Velasquez*, LHP Sean Gilmartin, LHP Jack Leathersich, LHP Steven Matz, RHP Scott Rice*.

*Denotes non-roster invitee

Follow me on Twitter @AnthonyDiComo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: